Cris Ochoa has been selected for a Chemistry-Biology Training Grant Fellowship - kudos!

June 2017

Congrats to Phil Gilmartin on receipt of an NSF Graduate Fellowship!

March 2017

We are excited for new graduate students joining the group, Philip Gilmartin and Madison Herling.
Welcome to Pradip Nahide, a visiting student from Guanajuato University in México.

January 2017

Congratulations on Van Tran on publication of her work in J. Med. Chem. which was  highlighted on the Curious Wavefunction Blog.
Welcome to Peddiahgari Vasu Govardhana Reddy, a visiting scholar from Yogi Semana University, and Gang Hong, a visiting student from  East China University of Science and Technology (Shanghai, China).

September 2016

August 2016

It was great to see so many former group members a the ACS meeting this week in Philadelphia. Here is a picture from the Penn Alumni reception at the Chemical Heritage Foundation: Mike Fennie (PhD 2006, Asst. Prof. Univ. of Scranton ), Liz Linton (PhD 2009, West Chester School District), Josh Dickstein (PhD 2009, Bridgestone), James Ianni (postdoc 2002-2006, Lidos), Ryan Walvoord (PhD 2014, Asst. Prof. Ursinus College), Erin DiMauro (PhD 2003, Amgen), Erin Podlesney (PhD 2012, Asst. Prof. Richard Stockton College), John Curto (PhD 2014, Pfizer). Missing: Kelsey VanGelder (PhD 2016, GSK), Andrew Lowell (PhD 2008, postdoc University of Michigan with David Sherman)

Arjun Vijeta, a vising undergraduate from IISER Pune, is headed to the University of Cambridge where he is going to work on "artificial photosynthesis" under the supervision of Prof. Erwin Reisner.

Farewell to undergraduate summer researcher Adrian Riives (San Jose State Univ.) and to high school student summer researcher Alexa Bartels (Baldwin School).

July 2016

Congratulations to former PhD student Ryan Walvoord as he begins a faculty position at Ursinus College after finishing postdoctoral work with Chris Chang at UC Berkeley.

Congratulations to Kelsey Van Gelder on successful completion of her PhD. We wish her luck in her new position at Glaxo Smith-Kline.

June 2016

Welcome to undergraduate researchers Kirsten Hewitt (Penn), Adrian Riives (San Jose State Univ.), and Jiyoung Song (Penn Viper Program) and to high school student Alexa Bartels (Baldwin School) for summer research.

Congratulations to Young Eun Lee on successful defense of her PhD thesis.

May 2016

Congratulations to Osvaldo Gutierrez and the team of collaborators at Boehringer-Ingelheim for our Chemical Science publication on nickel catalyzed Heck-type reactions

We wish undergraduates Van Tran and Luke Chen a fond farewell, as they move on to Scripps La Jolla for graduate school and a consulting position, respectively.

Congratulations and best wishes to postdoctoral scholar Osvaldo Gutierrez as he starts his faculty position at the University of College Park, Maryland

March 2016

Congratulations to Van Tran on her publication in J. Med. Chem. on our work determining hydrogen bonding strengths, which has important implication in medicinal chemistry design

January 2016

Welcome to Peter Amadeo, Adriana Jemison, Kyle Niederer, Cris Ochoa, and Tom Paniak, first year  students who are joining the group!